In 2005, the pictures of the rebuilt Frauenkirche were seen all around the world. The reconstruction of the Lutheran Baroque church which collapsed in 1945, took eleven years. Now, it is the dominating building of the as well newly constructed Neumarkt, which takes up historic motives of the original Neumarkt destroyed in February 1945 in regard to spatial planning and façade design.
The Dresden Frauenkirche was built between 1726 and 1743 according to plans of George Bähr, architect and Dresden's City Master Carpenter, on the site of an older church "Zu unseren lieben Frauen", which origins reached back to the 11th century. But Bähr did not live to see the completion of the building, whose plans were revised in the course of the long period of construction work, among others by Johann Christoph Knöffel. The church was completed by one of Bähr's students. With its remarkable dome, the Dresden Frauenkirche was a prominent example of protestant sacred building in Baroque style and already at that time a famous landmark of Dresden.
At the firebombing of Dresden at the end of World War II, the church was destroyed completely by fire. Since the delicate sandstone lost its stability due to the great heat, the church collapsed on February 15th 1945. Its ruin became a monument against war and destruction during the era of the GDR. In the 1980s, among other things, it gained symbolic character for the strenghtening civil rights movement in the GDR. After the German reunification, people quickly demanded a reconstruction and with donations from all over the world, the reconstruction started in 1994 - including existing parts of the ruin into construction.
Discover Dresden with the KIM HOTEL DRESDEN and the KIM HOTEL IM PARK