KIM HOTEL DRESDEN
KIM HOTEL IM PARK

„My Hotel in Dresden

KIM HOTEL DRESDEN
KIM HOTEL IM PARK

„My Hotel in Dresden

DE

your current position: »Experience Dresden »Dresden Kristallpalast

The Kristallpalast in Dresden. *
The Kristallpalast in Dresden. *

Kristallpalast

A spectacular, but initially very controversially discussed example for recent architecture in Dresden is the  so-called "Kristallpalast" (Crystal Palace). Not far from Prager Straße, it was built in 1997/98 next to the circular-building cinema as its extension. The two cinemas are now independent from each other, though the numbering of the cinema halls in the "Kristallpalast" still starts with number 8. 

 

The building, planned by the Vienna-based architecture firm Coop Himmelb(l)au was controversial because of its unusual de-constructivist design expression: to a large asymmetric structural shell made from béton brut, there is a large steel skeleton attached which is completely enclosed in glass. This part of the building thus reminds of a large crystal, a cirumstance which is responsible for the colloquial name of the cinema.

 

Thus, the architecture contrasts strongly with the historic architectural monuments of Dresden's city centre and also with the nearby plattenbau housing and the modern design of Prager Straße. While many inhabitants of Dresden are baffled at the sight of this piece of contemporary architecture, others consider it as a gain that also modern buildings shape the cityscape of Dresden

 

Discover Dresden with the KIM HOTEL DRESDEN and the KIM HOTEL IM PARK


 

* The photograph "The Kristallpalast in Dresden" was published by GNU FDL and adapted by www.wikipedia.de.


HOTEL-AVAILABILITY

Date of arrival

Date of departure

Attractively priced rooms at our hotels in Dresden!

HOTEL-EVENTS

 588. Dresdner Christmas Market

23.11.2022

588. Dresdner Christmas Market

from 23. November to 24 December 2022

HOTEL-RECOMMENDATIONS

 ...kein Text...

...kein Text...

...kein Text...

KIM HOTEL DRESDEN
KIM HOTEL IM PARK

„Mein Hotel in Dresden

KIM HOTEL DRESDEN
KIM HOTEL IM PARK

„Mein Hotel in Dresden

EN

Sie befinden sich: »Dresden erleben »Dresdner Kristallpalast

Der Kristallpalast in Dresden - ein modernes Kino im Stil des Dekonstruktivismus. *
Der Kristallpalast in Dresden - ein modernes Kino im Stil des Dekonstruktivismus. *

Der Kristallpalast

Ein spektakuläres, aber in Dresden anfangs äußerst umstrittenes Beispiel neuester Architektur ist der sogenannte „Kristallpalast“. Unweit der Prager Straße wurde er in den Jahren 1997/98 neben dem Rundkino als dessen Erweiterung erbaut. Die beiden Kinos gehören heute nicht mehr zusammen, aber die Nummerierung der Kinosäle im „Kristallpalast“ beginnt noch immer mit der Nummer 8.

 

Umstritten war das von dem Wiener Architekturbüro Coop Himmelb(l)au entworfene Gebäude aufgrund seiner außergewöhnlichen dekonstruktivistischen Formensprache: An einen großen, asymmetrischen Baukörper aus Sichtbeton schließt sich ein großes Stahlskelett an, welches vollständig von Glas umschlossen ist. Dieser Teil des Gebäudes erinnert so an einen großen Kristall, woher auch der umgangssprachliche Name des Kinos stammt.

 

Damit hebt sich die Architektur stark von den historischen Architekturdenkmälern der Dresdener Innenstadt ab und kontrastiert auch die in unmittelbarer Nähe angesiedelten Plattenbauten sowie das moderne Ensemble der Prager Straße. Während viele Dresdener dieser zeitgenössischen Architektur ratlos gegenüberstehen, betrachten andere es als Gewinn, dass auch moderne Bauwerke das Stadtbild Dresdens prägen.

 

Dresden entdecken mit dem KIM HOTEL DRESDEN und dem KIM HOTEL IM PARK


 

* Das Bild wird von der GNU FDL veröffentlicht und wurde von www.wikipedia.de übernommen.


HOTEL-VERFÜGBARKEIT

Ihr Anreisetag

Ihr Abreisetag

Zimmer in unseren Hotels in Dresden zu einem Bestpreis!

HOTEL-EVENTS

 583. Dresdner Striezelmarkt

29.11.2017

583. Dresdner Striezelmarkt

vom 29. November bis 24. Dezember 2017

HOTEL-EMPFEHLUNGEN

 Unser Partnerhotel - Das Berghotel Oberhof:   

Unser Partnerhotel - Das Berghotel Oberhof:  

Ihr Wellness- und Tagungshotel in Thüringen am Rennsteig